Exercise Summary

Howdy! Over the past 10 months/year, I’ve been trying to become more active and slowly build out a consistent exercise habit. I’ve been making a lot of progress over the past few months, so I’m trying to build on and expand the habit. In that spirit, I’m going to try to incorporate a weekly summary so that I can stay accountable and, maybe, inspire others!

Some quick background:

I started building this habit by doing 10 pushups every day. I’m aiming for an “Atomic Habits” approach, where I try to do the bare minimum to start and slowly, gradually build on that habit. The idea is that consistent 1% improvements are better than attempting an overnight 50% improvement. Those 10 pushups a day eventually became walking, which eventually became running, which eventually became getting a gym membership and going 3 times a week, which is where I am now! I’ve been going 3 times a week since around mid-September 2022, and have only missed 1 week IIRC (part of why I’m doing this weekly report is to avoid forgetting if/when I’ve missed a week :)

I’ll try to get these posts out Friday/Saturday of every week!

Running

  • Monday: total distance 1.2mi, 2 mins walk, pace while running 13:20/mi
  • Friday:
    • Distance: 1.16mi
    • Avg pace: 13:38
    • Avg heart rate: 118 BPM
    • Got cut short because I had a really early call for work and I got to the gym a bit late :( normally Fridays are my long run days. I’d like to aim for ~2mi in a couple weeks as I’m doing a 5k in March!

Weights/Strength

  • Wednesday: video, 1st round using 15lbs, 2nd + 3rd rounds 20lbs except on deadlift, rows