been seeing a lot of chatter about Twitter vs BlueSky vs Mastodon last couple days. I haven’t used BlueSky myself so I can’t speak directly to it, but I will say: One of my favorite things about Mastodon is that it almost explicitly is not trying to unseat or replace Corporate Social Media. It’s basically a personal blog with a few social media features on top, and I like that. It’s not about attracting large user groups, celebrities, or providing a path to monetization. It’s just blogging tbh and I hope that doesn’t change any time soon.

Moreover, I’d posit this: it’s not possible for a platform/software to unseat Capitalist Corporate Social Media without becoming Capitalist Corporate Social Media itself. Capitalism bends all to its will. You can’t kill the monster without becoming one yourself - in the words of Professor Falken, “the only way to win is not to play”. Mastodon is refusing to play, and as long as that’s true, I’ll stick around!